top of page


An Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) is a non-partisan, neighborhood body made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners. Each ANC is subdivided into a number of smaller areas called Single Member Districts (SMDs). One Commissioner is elected per SMD and represents about 2,000 people. Commissioners serve two-year terms without pay.

The ANCs were established to bring government closer to the people, and to bring the people closer to government. Their main job is to be their neighborhood's official voice in advising the District government (and federal agencies) on things that affect their neighborhoods. Although they are not required to follow an ANC's advice, DC agencies are required to give an ANC's recommendations "great weight." Moreover, DC law says that agencies cannot take any action that will significantly affect a neighborhood unless they give the affected ANC 30 days notice. This includes zoning, streets, recreation, education, social services, sanitation, planning, safety, budget, and health services.

You can read more about ANC 4B, including the Commission's boundaries and information about upcoming meetings, governing documents, and ANC official action, below and on the ANC 4B website.

4B02 2023 - unaltered.jpg

Redistricting occurs once every ten years and redraws our city’s political boundaries based on the latest Census population data. The latest changes recently went into effect and are based on the 2020 Census. The Ward 4 Commission and Single Member District boundaries, as well as background regarding redistricting, are available on Councilmember Lewis George's website. The picture included here depicts the Single Member District 4B02 boundaries. If you are unsure of which ANC you live in, check here.


The Advisory Neighborhood Commissions Act of 1975 created ANCs to represent residents within Commission areas in each of the 8 Wards of the District. The provisions of the Act are available here.

ANC 4B's Bylaws and its Rules of Procedure, as amended on January 27, 2020, are available here.

ANC Meeting (1).jfif

ANC 4B normally holds its regular monthly meetings on the fourth Monday of every month at 7:00 p.m. The Commission usually recesses in July, August, and December. Since the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic ANC 4B has been meeting virtually. Please check ANC 4B's website for up-to-date information regarding regular monthly meetings, including agendas and draft materials 

Resolution 4B-20-0605_TM_20200623121658P

ANCs are granted "party status" before some government entities, such as the Zoning Commission, the Board of  Zoning Adjustment, and the Alcohol License Review Board. For many government entities, ANC recommendations are given "great weight," but do not require agency action. ANCs express their positions via resolutions and other Commission action. You can view ANC 4B resolutions and letters that have been approved here, and ANC 4B's Annual Reports here. Commissioners can also advocate as individuals via letters and other communications to elected officials and agency representatives.

bottom of page